Can't install wireless drivers on Picroft or get audio

I just imaged my RPi with Picroft and it boots and runs through a bunch of stuff.

Now I’m trying to install drivers for my TPLink wifi adapter (T4U).

I downloaded the drivers from their website, but when I run a make on them, I get the error:

make[1]: *** /lib/modules/4.4.21+/build: No such file or directory. Stop.

So, why am I asking about a 3rd party driver on this forum?

Because I also tried an open source driver for the adapter and got the same error. So I tried getting a little deeper by manually creating an empty “build” folder, and the installs proceed one step farther, getting this error:

make[1]: Entering directory '/lib/modules/4.4.21+/build'
     make[1]: *** No rule to make target 'modules'. Stop.

I have some linux experience from the admin side, but I’ve never compiled anything on it. It feels like maybe there’s something in the Picroft build that is missing, which these supposedly simple driver builds aren’t able to find. But I don’t really know…

I did some googling and came across some proposed fixes, but none of them work, always indicating something isn’t set up correctly with the file structure maybe?

This is in addition to the problem I have where Mycroft doesn’t speak to me, I never get a pairing code, and the audio log indicates some strange errors.

Does it sound like my build is jacked or am I just missing something?

OK, I think we’re dealing with two separate problems here - one is the TPLink WiFi adapter issue, and the second is Mycroft not responding.

The WiFi adapter issue is not one we’ve observed frequently. Can I ask why you need to install the WiFi adapter? Is it because Picroft is not connecting to your WiFi SSID?

The second issue, with Mycroft not responding, has a couple of workarounds.

• sudo service mycroft-skills stop && sudo service mycroft-skills start

This stops and starts the Skills service, which we think has been preventing the Pairing Skill from running.