[Content understanding] Transcription service

Skill name: transcription-skill

User story:

• As a keynote speaker, I want Mycroft to live transcribe the words I am speaking, so that the conference I am speaking at does not need to employ a stenographer.
  • As a keynote speaker, I want Mycroft to live transcribe the words I am speaking, so that any hearing impaired audience members can have a better experience, and so that I better support accessibility and universal design.
  • After I have spoken, I want to be able to read the transcription in a text file so that I can save it for future reference
  • As a writer, I want to be able to play back a recording of an interview, and have the spoken audio transcribed into written text so that I can make the writing process quicker and easier.
  • As someone who is on a low income, I want to be able to use a free and open source transcription service so that I don’t have to pay the transcription fees (up to 20c minute) that commercial services charge.
  • As a web developer, I want to be able to access the transcription via an API or a web service to integrate into other products or offerings.

What third party services, data sets or platforms will the Skill interact with?

None.

Are there similar Mycroft Skills already?

What will the user Speak to trigger the Skill?

Hey Mycroft, start transcription {{transcription_name}}
Hey Mycroft, stop transcription

What phrases will Mycroft Speak?

Starting transcription {{transcription_name}} {{live transcription}}
Stopping transcription {{transcription_name}} {{live transcription}}
The transcription {{transcription_name}} has been stored at {{transcription path}}

What Skill Settings will this Skill need to store?

• Transcription directory path
  • Any custom works or phrases that are not mainstream - such as medical terminology
  • (optional) a custom transcription stop and start phrase

Other comments?