CPU temperature skill - testing and feedback

Mycroft skill to read the CPU temperature.

This is my first skill. I wrote it as a learning exercise. I tested it with Picroft stable installed on a RaspberryPi3 using a Matrix Voice microphone array. I’m new to Mycroft, Python, Matrix Voice, and Github (i.e. everything) and would welcome feedback. I would also appreciate testing on other platforms.

How to install CPU Temperature Skill

How to test CPU Temperature Skill

• The temperature unit can be set to Celsius or Fahrenheit in the user’s Mycroft account skill settings page.
  • Speak Intent phrase
    Example: What is the cpu temperature
  • Mycroft will read temperature from file /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp and reply.

Skill Pass Criterion

• Replies with the CPU temperature and user selected temperature unit.

Fail Criteria

• Skill does not install.
  • Skill does not reply with correct temperature or user selected temperature unit.
  • Skill replies with file not found error.

Feedback

Feedback can be given on this forum and through issues on Github:

Thanks.

6 Likes

Downloaded and tested it out, it was something I was about to create for myself (glad I checked here haha).
My picroft failed to understand my intent for “What temperature is the CPU”, instead giving me the weather. I tried “How is the processor doing” but the voice recognition failed that (kept thinking I said “how is the process of doing”). When asked for the “processor temperature”, “how is the processor doing”, “what’s the temp of the cpu” it worked flawlessly.
Nifty little skill. Not sure why ‘Temperature of the CPU/Processor’ fails but ‘temp of the CPU/processor temperature’ works. My guess is the word ‘temperature’ coming first is making it go for a weather intent.

Thank you for the testing and feedback!