Creating my first skill with essentially no experience - Mycroft MagicMirror skill

So, as you can tell from the title, I have very little experience in writing code. I don’t know Python or Java. But I am a fast learner/tinkerer and am committed to seeing this through. I am looking for any suggestions that might help me or anyone willing to put in a little time to answer a few questions when I run into problems. I figure this is the best place to start.

I have a Raspberry Pi 3 b running Debian Jessie (not lite) with MagicMirror and Mycroft both installed and operating without issues. Both start automatically on boot and operate independently. For the skill I am proposing to work, a user would need to have a number of things on their Pi.

First I started with a Raspberry Pi 3 b and a 16gb micro sd card.
then get the Debian Jessie image here:

http://downloads.raspberrypi.org/raspbian/images/raspbian-2017-07-05/

after using etcher to put the image on the sd card, into the pi and boot. At the linux terminal window:

• sudo apt-get update

• sudo apt-get upgrade

then from the command line or linux terminal window follow installation instructions for MagicMirror
https://github.com/MichMich/MagicMirror

Then once you follow all the instructions and have the MagicMirror working, then install the Mycroft-Core
files and directions here: https://github.com/MycroftAI/mycroft-core/tree/master

I did run into an issue with the libfann-dev library explained here with solution: Trying to install both Mycroft-Core and MagicMirror on the same PI

So… I thought I would try to build on an existing MagicMirror module called MMM-voice with the Hello-Lucy modifications to receive commands from a Mycroft skill.