Dalek voice and diphone flitevox file structure

I’m trying to make a Mycroft/Picroft respond in a voice like the classic BBC Dr Who baddie, a Dalek.

I started with the standard British male Mimic diphone voice, it’s already pretty robotic so it’s well suited. For those who may be interested, I’ve altered it so that it does a passable Dalek impression which has involved two main steps;

The first is to break up the response into the individually delivered words (as in ‘you … will … be … exterminated’) rather than running words together as in human speech. To do this on Mycroft I’ve interrupted coding at the point that the response has been translated into text (/mycroft-core/mycroft/audio/speech.py, at ‘def handle_speak(event):’) and changed the code at the ‘else’ point. Before I show any coding, I should say that, while I’ve been coding for many years, I’m a complete newbie to Python (and Mycroft/Picroft) and if I’m treading on toes or infringing things please let me know or delete this, and if you copy any of this you do so at your own risk (always make copies of the original files so that you can get back to the original code). This is what I changed it to;
else:
#insert pauses ('. ') between words for that dalek sound
utterance = utterance.replace(" “,”. “)
utterance = utterance.replace(”,“,”. . ")
utterance = utterance + ". "
mute_and_speak(utterance, ident, listen)