Dev Kit - Week 3 things I noticed

So far I’m happy with this kit. The potential of this little robot is great, I’m an engineer so I like to fiddle with robots and I notice things. So far Mycroft seems to be working ok, here are a few things I’ve noticed over the past few weeks for those interested.

1. The fan, installed per the instructions blows outward but the box is really open to ambient air so I’m not sure the heat sinks are having air flowing across them if that was the design intent.

2. The fan when blowing inward is aimed directly at the touchscreen cable. Which blocks the path to the heat sinks. To get this a little better I pulled the ribbon cable down and tried to get it closer to the speaker box. I might take the box apart and try to reroute and tape down the cable differently.

3. The fan is pretty loud. Totally understandable, I’m going to experiment with a Noctura fan to see if I can reduce the white noise.

4. During a meeting, I paused an I heart radio station with the touch-screen option and left it paused for a few hours. For some reason that station no longer buffers correctly and the sound is intermittent. Restarts don’t clear the cache. I can listen to other stations without issue which is super unexpected.

5. The pull down menu on the touchscreen is hit or miss on functionality. I tried hitting the factory reset but nothing happened. I’m not sure if I ran out of patience or nothing happened. But the restart and turnoff buttons seem to work fine.

6. Naptime skill to sleep leads to infinite thinking mode (captured in other places on this forum) and is listed on the bug list.

7. The Mycroft website doesn’t let me change options for my device. Hitting edit under my device, and filling out the options in “Manage your device configuration” the save button is greyed out.

8. At 6:42am this morning the clock read 6:4 .I snapped a picture and looked away. by 6:48am the clock was back to normal and it’s been fine since.

1 Like