Developing skills for income?

Hi, Im fairly new to Mycroft and like the privacy compared to the alternatives (where they are banned in my household). I have Mycroft running on a Pi3 and started to experiment with developing a skill controlling Plex. I am a software engineer and am interested in developing skills that would be widely used by the community. I searched in the forum for developing skills for income but I didn’t see anything so I’m assuming there isn’t a path for that? Can anyone clarify if there is income earning potential for developing skills?

Thanks

1 Like

Hey Tom, welcome to the Forums!

I see two broad ways for Skill devs to monetize their work.

.1. Currently we get requests for contract work where someone would like a custom Skill built for their project or enterprise. We are very focused on the deployment of the Mark II so mostly refer these on to development partners instead. If you’re interested in joining as a development partner, please drop me a line at kris.gesling @ our domain.

.2. Longer term, we want to create mechanisms for all Skill developers to benefit from their contributions. There are a few ways this could look and each I think have their pro’s and cons. It might be that we go a classic app store route - where authors can opt to have their Skill cost some amount of money. They may also choose to have this as a “pay-as-you-feel” option.