Keeping my local install of Mycroft up to date

This may be a non-issue, but even though I have been using Linux for many years, the same cannot be said about using git. So my question is, if there are changes to Mycroft, how would I keep my local install up to date with those changes within the git projects? Is there way within github to actually sync up my install to what is current, or do I need to clone and run the makefiles all over again each time there’s a change?

If you’re going to update, normally I’d wait for a release to happen and then ‘git pull’ down a new copy. Might complain about files not being saved, if you’ve got customization in the mycroft directory.

I have two clones of it so I can tinker with one side by side with a known good copy. (git clone URLhere mycroft && git clone URLhere mycroft2). You could also checkout a different branch after cloning, so you can save your own customizations and work (git checkout -B my-local-branch), and then swap back to dev when you want to update (git checkout dev) or something. If you’re planning on developing for mycroft, fork the repo on github (see button on the mycroft-core page), clone that repo, and then go to town.

I think @baconator assumes you are moderately familiar with git, and it’s not clear to me that you are.

“git clone” grabs a brand new copy of a project. So “git clone git@github.com:MycroftAI/mycroft-core.git” would create a new directory “mycroft-core” with the Mycroft core project source code. Then you can cd into that directory and run commands.