[Learning] Flashcards (Anki integration)

Skill name: anki-flashcards-skill

User story:

As a law student I was watching out for new learning technologies all the time. I found flashcards very useful and especially the Anki flashcards app with its scientific algorithm for recalling information. Anki flashcards is a free open source program with its own API and many free flashcard decks for different learning tasks varying from every language over medicine to informatics. As a lifelong learner I want this Skill to read the question part of a deck so that I can learn cards without having to read them. Reading cards and answers for more than 3 hours a day is hard. Talking to Mycroft would be fun.

What third party services, data sets or platforms will the Skill interact with?

Mycroft may interact with Anki directly. For example via the Anki web GUI or through the API endpoints given in the Anki documentation for Add-on developers. Developers may also consider the skill to interact with the well documented AnciConnect add-on. (https://foosoft.net/projects/anki-connect/)
Especially the ‘ShowQuestion’ and ‘ShowAnswer’ command might be of the developers interest.

Are there similar Mycroft Skills already?
No.

What will the user Speak to trigger the Skill?
‘Hey Mycroft, let’s learn some flashcards’
‘Hey Mycroft, ask me flashcards about {deck name}’

What phrases will Mycroft Speak?
A first and easy attempt would let Mycroft read the question side of the card, wait for the user to answer the question for himself/ recall the information (as he does while manually learning with the app). Then Mycroft will read the answer and finally ask the user: ‘compared to what I just said, how would you rate your answer?’

The user then decides, as he does manually within the app, if answering was wrong, hard, correct or easy.