Learning to build a home control AI

A bit of background on me: I work as a tech at a bank, and I have no real formal education on programming. I learned of Mycroft through a co-worker, and I’m using it to teach myself more about Linux and programming in general (specifically, Python). My ultimate goal is to have an AI optimized and customized for IoT control using wifi or Bluetooth modules integrated into devices (smart fan, video doorbell, light switches, etc.) as well as multi-room media control. My concept is to have a centralized core that is able to differentiate between inputs and react accordingly.

I have Mycroft installed on a Raspberry Pi 3 model B (running Raspbian PIXEL on 16GB sdcard). I’ve poked at the skills a bit, but right now I’m stuck trying to get my pi to recognize an audio input from my cheapo Bluetooth conference speakers.

Any suggestions are welcome, and if I stay motivated, I’ll keep this updating this thread as my project evolves.

A real good companion to mycroft for homeautomation is home-assistant. Let mycroft do all the voice stuff, and home-assistant do all the automation stuff.

Home-assistant is like mycroft open and made in python. And is easy to setup, and easy to make addons to.

1 Like

hi i am a pi newbie so take my advice with a grain of salt but, does the pi show these conf speakers in the output of arecord -l?

Nope. It doesn’t see any recording devices. That’s where I’m stuck - I can’t seem to get the pi to recognize the conference speaker’s microphone input. It only sees it as a Bluetooth speaker. Going to try a couple audio configurations today and I’ll let you know what I find out.