Mycroft is slow to respond [Details inside]

I’ve just installed Mycroft on my Raspberry Pi.

I’m 100% new AI assistants so I have no experience, but I said to commands to Mycroft, at first I thought he wasn’t listening or picking up my voice but then after a couple of minutes I got a reply.

Should Mycroft take this long to respond? Is there anything I can do to improve this?

Thanks for your help

Have seen the same problem … at least 30 seconds to respond.

Q: Is there any particular log file (other than view_log) we shoudl be attaching to the there posts for others to view?

Currently Mycroft Configuration
( ?? Is there a print_mycroft_config ) command ?
v0.8
Pi3 with official Pi 3 Power supply
Ethernet connection to Internet
3.5 Speaker
No Mic ( yet )

Having the same problem.

Also having the same problem with a Pi3 and v0.8b of PiCroft

The response time is longer when the text to speak is long. If I ask it “how are you?”, the response time is quite acceptable. I believe it takes time for the TTS engine to process it. The longer the text, the longer it takes to respond.

However, I believe it also takes time for the query to send to the online STT engine for processing.

I believe both the STT and TTS engines are located in the internet. If both can be hosted locally, I believe it will solve the response delay problem.

1 Like

Getting the same problem on a brand new Pi3B. Any solutions? Thanks.

Actually after a couple of reboots it’s a lot faster. Don’t know why, but anyway, it’s just about acceptable speed.

Rebooting makes no difference for me.

It responds to maybe the first ‘Hey Mycroft’ If i’m asking for the time or weather.

If i try again in a minute or so it might recognise the wake word, but it could be 30 seconds to not at all before it responds.

It’s quite odd the differences we are experiencing given that we are mostly using the same hardware.

Perhaps the next release will address these issues.