Mycroft languages

Hello to the team and congratulations for the job done since now.
I am french, and really want to know if your cute and smart little device could really understand my mother tongue.
Will it could respond to french language, and will it answer in french ?
Thank you for your time.

5 Likes

We are working to ensure French, German, and Spanish are supported out of the box. However, we will likely need some help from the community in order to make Mycroft truly fluent :smile:

5 Likes

I don’t know anything about programming, even if i work in IT sector.
So if I could help by some means

@Jerome_BERTRAND, the best way to help will be with testing and feedback. To make sure the interactions seem natural in French. We want to make sure Mycroft doesn’t say stupid things or come across as silly in other languages.

1 Like

I’ve got my own rasp2, I’ve try jasper with a Kinect (for the quality of the array) but as many A.I. for the moment are for english language I haven’t push further.

So if you need french alpha or beta tester feel free to ask.

1 Like

@ryanleesipes

Fortunately I know lots of guy who will be plz to help in french. Several active members of the Ubuntu French LoCo are bakers :wink:

@Jerome_BERTRAND As a french user, sure I 'll test the french abilities of Mycroft as well

1 Like

Content de voir qu’il y a d’autres frenchies sur le site, je me doute comme bcp on est nombreux à vouloir tester.

Avant de “baker” je préfère être sur que le projet supportera bien le français, parceque pour avoir un peu fait le tour les IA en français ça court pas les rues…
Mais sinon je trouve que ce projet vaut vraiment le coup.

Does this mean that one of the skills can be Mycroft, how do I say 'Stop in the name of love' in French? That would be genuinely excellent.

7 Likes

I hadn’t really thought about a translation layer. That is a very interesting concept @sil

Oh event better, I could say