New Home-made Skill on an Ubuntu (non-RasPi) Installation

I’m new to Mycroft.

As a quick exercise to get experience writing a new skill, I followed the template
in your web space at

I replicated the patterns laid out in that documentation, building my init.py file and
the respective files needed that reside in the dialog, vocab, and test/intent folders.

So far, so good.

Then I got to this step:

Note that it’s tagged “deprecated.” So…what next?

In my case, I punted and copied my new skill’s folder hierarchy over to /opt/mycroft/skills
into a new directory.

I stopped and restarted Mycroft and confirmed Mycroft can faithfully convert my speech to
text (I can see this in the log because I’m running things using ‘start-mycroft.sh debug’.

But Mycroft is not capturing the intent of a clear phrase that should map to one of my
skill’s intents.

What do I do next?

On a side note, I notice that the skills that shipped with Mycroft (when installed from
git yesterday), the ones that appear in my /opt/mycroft/skills folder, do not seem to
have the same directory structure specified in your “creating a new skill” tutorial.
Specifically, none of these skills seem to have the test/intent subdirectory that I created
with my skill (as per the aforementioned instructions on creating a new skill).

How can I test my new skill?

Thanks1

The skills framework is depreciated in favor of building skills directly in /opt/mycroft/skills which should get automatically loaded in the moment they are placed there. You can look for errors when loading your skill by starting Mycroft CLI (GitHub install: ./start-mycroft.sh cli, Mycroft Unit: mycroft-cli-client) and searching for the name of your skill with CTRL+F and then typing part of the name of your skill.

Let me know if this helps.
- Matthew

1 Like

Thanks Matthew for your speedy and helpful reply!

Yes, my new skill failed to load. The reason is that my init.py is importing a self-developed module.