Self-hosting and architecture questions

I’m very new to the Mycroft project and haven’t actually run a functional install at this point - still considering how I want to set things up.

One issue is that I’m trying to figure out the overall architecture of the Mycroft project. At first, I thought that Mycroft Core was the “brains” of the system. Given the name, this made sense. However, it’s just the “listener” system that runs on your local hardware, right? You pair it with your home.mycraft.ai account, and the Mycroft systems do the actual voice recognition? It’s more Mycroft Client than Mycroft Core as far as what it does.

Selene and Selene UI are the actual brains, correct? This is that code that is behind the systems at home.mycroft.ai, from what I understand. Is that correct?

I’m really interested in running the Mycroft Android app because I refuse to rely on the virus that is Google. I see that there is Mycroft Android and Mycroft Core Android. From what I understand, the Mycroft Android app is just a very basic “listener” that relays voice to a Mycroft Core system, Mycroft Core sends that to home.mycroft.ai for recognition, and the results are sent back through to the device. Mycroft Core Android is an alpha-stage project for running Mycroft Core directly on Android instead of syncing with another system on your network. Is this correct?

Assuming I understand all of this correctly, here’s what I’d really like to do:

• Host my own Mycroft Core system in the cloud using something like Google Cloud Run (while I hate Google, this is a great service - serverless Docker)
  • Build the Mycroft Android app and point it to my Mycroft Core instance on the cloud
  • (Optional) host my own Selene backend

However, I think that the Android app requires a Core system on the local network. Also, the configuration uses an IP address, not a hostname. That puts a damper on using a cloud-hosted Core system.