South west UK joins the party

Hi Everyone,

My name is Dave, county of Wiltshire in the UK, I’ve just joined, and I’ve been spending the last couple of weeks tinkering with the Mycroft application for Linux. It’s running on Ubuntu 16.04.02 and is, well, amazing me on what I can do with it and what it can do.

So to give a bit of background, I am an electronics engineer that has migrated into the worlds of System Engineering and now into embedded software engineering. This I have been doing for the last 25 years. My primary language is C but I have dabbled in Python on a few projects and am picking it up fairly quickly.

I have three skills that I have written, what are very mission specific, so at the moment they have no value for the Github community. At least not yet. This is what I have so far.

Light Bar
I bought a string of 20 RGB LED globes from Ebay a while ago. Each one has an 2811 controller chip in it on a daisy chained bus. Using a Arduino Iooky-likey (ESP8211) I created a controller for the lights, which included a web based interface for control. I then fitted the modules onto a wooden batten which is now high up above me in my office. The programming allows various colors and brightnesses. The obvious step was to create a skill to form post commands to the light bar by spoken command. This was my first skill to create and I completed this by first writing the Python code to drive the web interface, outside of Mycroft, before integrating it into the skill template.

Shower room control