Testing and Feedback - Sonos Music Controller Skill

This is my first attempt of making a skill and I have also basically no experience with python or github at all.

Sonos Music Controller Skill:

A Mycroft Skill to control your Sonos speakers. It supports basic commands (such as “play” “pause” “skip” …) but also playing music via different services such as Apple Music and Spotify.

My skill doesn’t require any user authentication, looks for music through the music service APIs (iTunes Search API and Spotify API), and then takes the found ID and converts it to an URI the Sonos players can understand. I took those URIs from jishis Node Sonos package (GitHub - jishi/node-sonos-http-api: An HTTP API bridge for Sonos easing automation. Hostable on any node.js capable device, like a raspberry pi or similar.) and even opened an issue discussing this way of controlling music services via the python SoCo package (Able to play music from Apple Music · Issue #812 · SoCo/SoCo · GitHub)

Currently the skill won’t work with Spotify for about the first minute of every hour. That’s because of the authentication token with the Spotify API, that I’m using to get the Spotify IDs.

Recently I stumbled overt this skill: GitHub - smartgic/mycroft-sonos-controller-skill: Control Sonos speakers with music services support such as Spotify, that aims to provide the same functionality. I started my skill development last November, so I thought such a skill hadn’t been tried before and I didn’t look on github or on this forum since then. Maybe we could merge those skills together somehow because two skills for the same purpose seem unneccessary.

Installation:
mycroft-msm install https://github.com/QW3RTZUI0P/sonos-music-controller-skill