The Mycroft Home Redesign - Recap

Originally published at: http://mycroft.ai/blog/the-mycroft-home-redesign-recap/

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong, and start being excited about what could go right.

– Tony Robbins

During my career as a software engineering professional, I have encountered more people who fear change than those who embrace it. In my first programming job at a large company, change was abhorred. At another company, “refactoring” was considered a dirty word. I’ve been in many a heated debate about change, about risk out-weighing reward, and about the impact of change on velocity. My inclination is usually to favor change, because even though short-term discomfort and breakage is inevitable, so is the long-term benefit.

When I first started at Mycroft more than a year ago, our CTO expressed an interest in revamping the APIs and web applications, collectively named “Tartarus”. A few months later, I started to set my mind to it. After some consideration, the revamp became a complete re-architecture and “Selene” was born (Adam Selene was an alias for Mycroft in The Moon is a Harsh Mistress). After the new technology stack was selected, we built a proof-of-concept application: the Marketplace. Then, about six months ago, we embarked on the project to convert Tartarus to the new Selene architecture. A couple of weeks ago, we launched the new software.

Why re-architect Tartarus?

A complete re-architecture of an entire software application should not be taken lightly. So why did we decide on such a drastic course of action? Here are the major reasons: