Voight Kampff: How You Can Help #addatest

Originally published at: Voight Kampff: How You Can Help #addatest - Mycroft

Last week we introduced the Voight Kampff Integration Test Framework. Our internal team has been busy over the last month implementing this and creating base tests for Mycroft’s most used Skills.

This has significantly expanded our test coverage and has already uncovered over a hundred failing tests. That is at least 100 actions that are not working as they should be and I’m sure there are more out there. So we need your help!

“But I’m not a developer” I hear some of you say. That is great! We need people that don’t know their Python from their Snake Case.

1. Tell us when something needs fixing and #addatest

The best way that you can help us, is to let us know when something doesn’t work the way you expected. This might be a phrase that Mycroft didn’t understand, or a bug in one of the components.

Whatever it is, we want to #addatest so we can not just fix it, but make sure it stays fixed. Adding new tests for our Skills is a great way for anyone in the community to help. It doesn’t require any knowledge of Python or how our Skills work.

Let’s quickly revisit what an example Voight Kampff test looks like.

Given an English speaking user

When the user says “tell me the weather”

Then “my-weather-skill” should reply with “Right now, it’s overcast clouds and 32 degrees.”

If you can understand these three lines, then you can help Mycroft by writing new tests. It’s as simple as Given – When – Then.

Anytime you find something that isn’t working as expected, we want to know about it. To submit new tests you can:

• Reply to this Voight Kampff thread in the Forums
  • Add an issue to the relevant Skill on Github and tag it with #addatest, or
  • In post in Mycroft Chat and include the hashtag #addatest

2. Add tests to your own Skills