We need a Dinkum Dev-Community ASAP

My Mark II is coming in January, and I’m excited to be able to start playing around with it. But I can also read a room: obviously lots of people who paid money for this hardware device are disappointed by the state of the software on launch, and expected something usable right-out-of-the-box. From a usual commercial standpoint, where a product is evaluated for value-for-money, the value is all locked up in unrealized potential right now—as it stands the Mark II is a talking alarm clock. I’m a hobbyist/hacker, I never expected it to work out of the box, but I sympathize with people who wanted a working Siri/Alexa competitor this Christmas.

The absolute most important thing that needs to happen right now is community organization of development guides, tools, tutorials, videos, and news and updates for Dinkum-specific skills.

When Steve Jobs learned that the first Inside Macintosh development guides for 3rd-party devs were going to be delayed in printing, he found a phonebook publisher to pump out the cheapest, flimsiest pieces of crap he could so that the software development could start.

There are two sets of developer docs that I can find right now. The best ones with all the good tutorials are now out of date, since they’re for the old Mycroft core. The new ones are basically empty.

To get started with my Mark II, I need to know what’s changed in all the tutorials from the old docs. And then everyone who is developing, both in house and from the community, needs to start sharing tips and setups and instructions and tutorials that are Dinkum-specific. Look at any other Free Software project: they have constant changelogs, community engagement, development drives, etc. Code sprints, video series, etc. That’s whats going to get the Mark II into the device we all want to use and own.