Winston discussion

Winston Discussion

Good morning friends. It is time for me to discuss Winston, et ut ‘the animatronic formerly known as Teddy Ruxpin.’

First, a bit of background storytelling …

I am a 50-year-old technology professional. I grew up in the 1970s playing with Erector sets and building robots out of cardboard boxes, tape, and string. In the early 1980’s I learned BASIC programming on TRS-80 computers. My hobby building graduated to model rockets and remote-controlled airplanes constructed from balsa wood, paper covering, epoxy, and lots of butyrate dope.

The 80s were a wonderful time for the toy industry. When Teddy Ruxpin came out in 1985, I was 16, well beyond the age of its target audience. Worlds of Wonder released Teddy at just the right time to ride the zeitgeist of the era. Cute cartoons such as The Smurfs and Care Bears were popular. Teddy Ruxpin soon got his own cartoon. While it was certainly a marketing tool, the cartoon fueled imaginations about what the toy “could be.” This imagination continued into 2012 with the release of the film Ted.

The original Teddy Ruxpin, though, was simply a cassette player that drove 3 servos, which in turn controlled the eyes, nose, and mouth of the teddy bear. The cassette tapes were inspired technology with the audio track recorded on the right audio channel and data stream for servo control on the left channel. While making a neat storyteller for young children, this toy was limited in what it could do.

Fast-forward to today …

Most of my professional life has revolved around mansplaining technology to the masses. I have served as a nuclear mechanic aboard submarines in the US Navy, written technical documentation for IBM, and trained customers, salespersons, and service teams. I build and service my demonstration units, which I use for training and trade shows.

Re-enter Teddy …